Thunder Road SpeedBowl
ENPRO Services Night

Derrick O’Donnell Rallies Late for Second Thunder Road Win

 Derrick O’Donnell of North Haverhill, NH wheeled around 16-year-old Joey M Laquerre – three months removed from Driver’s Ed at U-32 High School – and went on to a car-length win in the 50-lap ENPRO Services Late Model main at Thunder Road.

 Right behind Joey M Laquerre for 3rd came his grandfather Joey Laquerre, a fixture at Thunder Road for decades.  “I tried to give him a little room, I didn’t want to make him nervous,” Grandpa Joey said.

 “I have a lot of fun racing with my family,” Joey M Laquerre said in victory lane.

 O’Donnell’s impressive win in the Gary Clay Builders No. 60 was his second of the season. He started 16th on the grid and sat 8th at the halfway mark. Phil Scott and Scott Payea finished 4th and 5th respectively after passing one another several times.

Northfield Savings Bank Night

Pembroke Closes Late for Thunder Road Late Model Win

Dave Pembroke of Middlesex chased down Brooks Clark in the closing laps of Thursday’s Late Model 50-lap main event on Northfield Savings Bank Fireworks Night at Thunder Road to claim his first win of 2013 and the 20th of his career.

 Pembroke started 19th on the grid in the VSECU/Lamoille Valley Ford No. 44 and followed Clark to the front in the outside lane in pursuit of leader Ricky Roberts. Clark and Pembroke were 5th and 6th on the final restart on lap 24. Clark took the lead on lap 32. He and Pembroke crossed the line side by side on lap 45.

 Roberts stayed strong to claim third. Veteran Joey Laquerre placed 4th, a car-length ahead of 16-year-old Emily Packard.

500 Fever - Reason #7


 (over the next four weeks leading up to the ‘500’ weekend there will be two or three ‘top ten’ reasons to be excited about this event---check back often over the next few weeks and you too will catch  the ‘500 Fever’ ----) 

# 7.  ACT +/- system

Dave Dion taught me to always think about the fans. So let’s start with the fans regarding handicaps.

I believe fans spend their money coming to a short track to hopefully watch action-packed, competitive racing. Certainly they cheer for their heroes and become boo-birds for those they love to hate, but the bottom line is they pay to see RACING ….and that includes all racing-- HEATSCONSI(S) and FEATURES.

Here are some of the more popular handicap procedures used by various weekly tracks and tours around the country.  I have added a little commentary on each to try and give you my perspective on why I like some and literally hate others: