Thunder Road SpeedBowl
VP Racing Fuels Night

Derrick O’Donnell Crowned “King of the Road”
Phil Scott, Darrell Morin, Will Hennequin and Al Derrington Claim Wins

Phil Scott made Kyle Pembroke pay for one mistake at the front of the field on lap 37 of the VP Racing Fuels Late Model 50 Thursday at Thunder Road and went on to his 2nd win of the season and the 29th of his career.

 Scott shot between a backmarker in the low lane and Pembroke on the rim of turn two in a go-for-broke move for the last of six lead changes.

 “I knew I had to take the opportunity, when I saw it,” Scott said.

 During the first half of the event, Pembroke and pole sitter Joe Becker raced side by side for more than 20 laps with Scott and eventual runner-up Joey Laquerre in close pursuit.

VP Racing Fuels Night

O’Donnell Poised to Claim “King of the Road”

North Haverhill, NH’s Derrick O’Donnell is poised to claim the 2013 “King of the Road” at the conclusion of tomorrow (Thursday, August 29) night’s VP Racing Fuels event at Thunder Road in Barre, VT. It would be O’Donnell’s second Thunder Road track title in three seasons, joining his 2011 Bond Auto Tiger Sportsmen crown.

O’Donnell has used a pair of feature wins, along with a total of 12 top ten finishes in the 13 events so far, to amass a 60-point lead heading into tomorrow night’s Late Model finale. Barring any major issues, the 23-year old should fend off two-time Thunder Road track champion Nick Sweet. 2013 marks O’Donnell’s first full season of Late Model competition, which will also make him the Rookie of the Year, something that hasn’t been done in the modern era of Thunder Road stock car racing.

Aubuchon Hardware Night

Sweet Puts on a Clinic, Wins Late Model 100

Nick Sweet went home with the winner’s trophy/hardware on Aubuchon Night after a masterful performance in the Late Model 100 Friday at Thunder Road.

 It was the first win of the season for the defending track champion, who came from 18th on the starting grid in the St. J Auto No. 88.

 Sweet shot underneath eventual runner-up Jean-Paul Cyr for 2nd on lap 52, took the lead from Brett Gervais a lap later and then quickly drew out to a commanding advantage.

 Cyr got home second just ahead of a fierce battle between Scott Payea (3rd) and Dave Pembroke (4th). Cody Blake rallied late for 5th, just ahead of Brooks Clark.