Thunder Road SpeedBowl
WDEV/Calkins Night

Eric Chase Captures First Thunder Road Late Model Win
Williams Takes Tiger Win and Dudley Scores Again on WDEV/Calkins Night

Eric Chase, the Milton, VT helicopter pilot, got a chance to beam in victory lane after 14 years of trying by wiring the Late Model field from the outside pole on WDEV/Calkins Night at Thunder Road on Thursday, August 8.

 Chase was put to the test over the second half of the 50-lap feature by veteran Dave Whitcomb who spent many a lap alongside his Gary Clay Builders No. 40. Whitcomb tucked inside to play a few laps of defense when teenager Emily Packard arrived to contest the top positions. Whitcomb made a final bid on the outside in the final three laps and Packard nosed underneath him to finish 2nd on the final circuit.

 Jason Corliss was a close 4th, followed by fast-closing Scott Payea. Positions 6-10 went to Jamie Fisher, Trampas Demers, Joey M Laquerre, Mike Bailey and Derrick O’Donnell.

 “It’s been a long time coming, Chase said. “It looks easy to do, but it’s not – it’s pretty hard. It’s a big monkey off my back.”

Harvest Equipment Night

Brett Wheeler Holds Off Scott for Late Model Win

Brett Wheeler of Waterbury Center met Phil Scott’s challenge on a late race restart and sped off to victory in the Harvest Equipment Night Late Model 50-lap main event on a rare Monday night of stock car racing at Thunder Road.

 Wheeler started on the pole and left everyone in the dust before a caution for Joey M Laquerre’s spin on lap 39 brought his Spherion No. 1 back to the field. Scott lined up alongside Wheeler in the Lamberton Electric/Maplewood No. 14, but wasn’t able to hang at Wheeler’s door.

 Trampas Demers and Dave Whitcomb spent the final 11 laps in a spirited battle for 3rd that went to Demers. Rookie Jason Corliss finished 5th. Point leader Derrick O’Donnell came from 20th on the grid to claim 6th. O’Donnell was 13th at the halfway mark. Positions 7-10 went to Joey Laquerre, Dave Pembroke, Mike Bailey and Eric Chase.


Thunder Road Harvest Night Postponed Until Monday

Thunder Road International Speedbowl Harvest Equipment night scheduled for Sunday, August 4 has been postponed due to heavy rains. The event has been rescheduled for tomorrow, Monday, August 5. Post time is 6:00pm.

Thunder Road Late Models, Bond Auto Tiger Sportsmen, and Allen Lumber Street Stocks will be in action with qualifying beginning at 6:00pm. The front gate will open at 4:30pm.