Thunder Road SpeedBowl
Driver of the Day - Kyle Streeter

Driver of the Day: Kyle Streeter

In 2013, 19 year-old Kyle Streeter of Waitsfield claimed tenth place in the Street Stock division. Streeter is a second generation driver who scored his second career win on WLVB Night. He earned seven top tens and three to fives on his way to his first top ten finish in the final standings.

2013 Stats – 10th Place
Starts – 16
Wins – 1
Top 5s – 3
Top 10s – 7
Avg. Fin. – 11.9

2014 VT State Late Model Championship

VT State Late Model Championship Sees Changes in 2014
Labor Day Replaces Governor’s Cup

The four race Vermont State Late Model Championship series, which boasts an $11,000 point fund, will see changes in 2014. The series, which features four events split between Vermont’s only two paved oval speedways, will now include the Labor Day Classic at Barre’s Thunder Road on the schedule, instead of the Vermont Governor’s Cup as in years past.

The Vermont State Late Model Championship was created in 2012 and hosts two races each at Devil’s Bowl Speedway in West Haven and Thunder Road in Barre. Once again the series will kick off with the Mekkelsen RV Memorial Day Classic 100 at Thunder Road on Sunday, May 25. The 1/4-mile portion of the series will conclude with the Labor Day Classic 200 on Sunday, August 31. The Labor Day event will also be the final Thunder Road Late Model point-counting event for 2014.

Cody Chevrolet-Cadillac

Cody Chevrolet Continues as Official Pace Car of Thunder Road

Cody Chevrolet-Cadillac of Montpelier, VT has been supplying the “Nation’s Site of Excitement” with a pace car since Thunder Road’s first decade of existence in the 1960’s. Cody is Central Vermont’s premier Chevy and Cadillac supplier. While the cars (both the pace car and the race cars following it) have changed, Cody’s support of stock car racing has not.

“Cody Chevrolet-Cadillac is proud to be the Official Pace Car of Thunder Road since the 1960s,” said General Manager of Cody Chevrolet-Cadillac, Robert Cody II.

They have been there for nearly all the memorable moments on the Barre high-banks and on one occasion were center stage. In 1998, Thunder Road legend Dave Dion hit the Cody Chevrolet Pace Car while exiting pit road during Busch North action. The incident became one of the most talked-about moments in the quarter-mile’s now 54 season history.