Thunder Road SpeedBowl
T-Road ACT Opener Home Track Advantage

Thunder Road ACT Opener Provides Home Track Advantage

The 16th annual Merchants Bank 150 opening event at Thunder Road in Barre, Vermont offers a big advantage for the hometown ACT Late Model race teams. The high banks and famous fourth turn “widow maker” have proven to be major obstacles for generations of “outsiders”. Not so for the regular Thunder Road graduates.

The opening event on the Tour, held at Lee USA earlier this month, was highlighted by some outstanding performances from Thunder Road alumni, including Emily Packard from East Montpelier, VT.  In just her second year of tour racing, the 17 year-old Packard had an impressive two days of racing at Lee USA. Likewise, Rookie of the Year contender Mike Ziter from Williamstown, VT, in his first ever ACT event, was steady throughout the highly competitive 150-lap event won with a late race charge by Rowley, MA veteran Eddie MacDonald.

The Colchest Sun - Racing for a Cause

Race car driver supports Camp Ta-Kum-Ta


From The Colchester Sun - April 3, 2014

If you visited the Thunder Road International Speedbowl in Barre last season, you may have noticed a pink race car decorated with a breast cancer awareness ribbon circulating the speedway. You also could have seen the car at various cancer awareness events around the state, such as at the Colchester CanSURvive 5K or Relay for Life.

The driver of that car, Jennifer Getty, is gearing up for her seventh season racing at Thunder Road and her second season dedicated to a chosen cause.

 “Last year I decided to use my race car to benefit the community,” the Essex Junction born Cambridge resident explained Friday. “As race car drivers, we have the ability to reach so many people. It is an amazing opportunity if you take advantage of it and do something good. Last year I decided to paint my race car pink and to race it with the pink breast cancer ribbon on the side. I donated 10 percent of my race earnings to The American Cancer Society. I also sold space on the trunk of my race car for $100 each and for each $100 space sold, I donated $10 to the SD Ireland Cancer Research Fund.

Thunder Road Opens this Weekend

Thunder Road to Open this Weekend

Thunder Road International Speedbowl will open this weekend for the 55th season of championship stock car racing. Billed as the “Nation’s Site of Excitement”, Thunder Road is known for its close door-banging, “take no prisoners” style of racing action.

The Merchants Bank 150 for the ACT Championship Late Model teams is the featured event this Sunday, but there will be plenty of racing action from the Bond Auto Tigers and Allen Lumber Street Stocks. They will also open their 2014 championship charge.

Seasoned race fans always feel that this event at Thunder Road should give an edge to the track’s graduates and regulars. T-Road veterans Jimmy Hebert and Bobby Therrien are former Tiger champions and are now tested and proven ACT drivers. They each won races on the Tour in 2013. Hebert won the 2013 New Hampshire Governor’s Cup at Lee USA Speedway and also the 100-mile race at SANAIR Super Speedway in St. Pie, Quebec. Just half-way into his first full season on the ACT, Therrien won the White Mountain Motorsport Park 150 lap event last July.