Thunder Road SpeedBowl

NAPA Tiger Sportsman driver Shawn Fleury has been turning laps at the high banks of Thunder Road Int’l Speedbowl for 11 years. Most know Shawn as a quiet guy who speaks volumes on the race track with his stellar performances. The highlight of his career was when he became the 2005 Tiger Sportsman champion and runner-up in the American Canadian Tour (ACT) Sportsman Series. Like all other competitors he would be unable to compete if it wasn’t for the dedication of his crew which is led by his father, Pete Fleury and followed by Brian Powers, Gary Powers, Scott Powers, Jason Jarvis and Steve French.
Victories and championships aside, Shawn describes his favorite thing about being a driver at Thunder Road, “I love it when I see all of the kids in the grandstands so excited to see the race cars. It’s fun when they come down in the pits after a race. They all want your autograph and they are so eager to meet all of the drivers.”

At each stock car race, Click-It or Ticket representatives circle the parking lot searching for vehicles with a Click-It or Ticket sticker. The owner’s name and license plate number is announced during the mini intermission and awarded two general admission tickets to the next event. The winners awarded at Thunder Road Speedbowl, on Thursday June 22nd were Roland & Theresa Poulin of Randolph, Vermont. “I’ve been coming here for years” stated an excited Roland “This is my first time winning anything.”

The Poulin’s were at Thunder Road celebrating their 61st wedding anniversary. The couple joined by three generations of Poulins gather at the track to watch grandson Cal Poulin compete in the Late Model division. The same day they won the tickets, Cal won his heat race. Like all weekly winners the Poulins have been entered for a drawing for a 2007 season pass.
There’s no reason not to have a Click-It or Ticket sticker on your vehicle. They are small and show that you support a fabulous safety program, plus you could win tickets to Thunder Road. If you don’t have a sticker on your car you can pick one up at the front ticket booth, or at the announcer’s tower. Show your support for Click-It or Ticket because seatbelts save lives.

Weekly action at Barre’s Thunder Road Speedbowl will be joined by the annual fireworks display on Monday, July 3rd. Following an exciting night of stock car racing action featuring the Late Models, NAPA Tiger Sportsmen, Allen Lumber Street Stocks, and Power Shift Warriors, fans can sit back and watch the sparkling colors emerge above the ¼ mile asphalt oval.

With three races in just eight days, the stamina of the drivers and crews will certainly be tested. The drivers will compete on Thursday, June 29th for the Sanel/Parts Plus event followed by the Monday, July 3rd Pepsi Holiday Fireworks event and finally on Thursday, July 6th the CMT/Charter Communications event. Typically drivers and crews have a week to prepare their cars for the next race.