Thunder Road SpeedBowl
CARQUEST to Present Vermont Governor’s Cup at Thunder Road

CARQUEST Auto Parts will present the 25th Vermont Governor’s Cup, a 100-lap Late Model stock car race at “The Nation’s Site of Excitement,” Barre’s Thunder Road, on July 12.  The event is expected to draw over 30 race teams from northern New England, including some of the front runners of the American-Canadian Tour (ACT) championship series.

Rich Pallai, Vice President of Marketing for CARQUEST Auto Parts, says his company has been looking forward to having a partnership with Thunder Road.

“We have had a presence in Vermont for a few years, and during that time people have been telling us all about the exciting racing on Quarry Hill in Barre,” said Pallai.  “CARQUEST is excited to be a part of Thunder Road, and I understand that the Vermont Governor’s Cup race has a long history.  We are proud that the next chapter will include CARQUEST.”

Year ACT Late Models NAPA Tiger Sportsmen Allen Lumber Streets Power Shift Warriors
1992 Joey Laquerre Ricky Roberts n/a n/a
1993 Gary Caron Mark Barnier Mike Clark n/a
1994 Jim Cilley Ricky Roberts Jason Gibbs n/a
1995 Pat Corbett Claude Cross Tim Martin n/a
1996 Mike Bruno Billy Marsha Bill Lamphere n/a
1997 Brian Hoar Jimmy Young Mike Perdue n/a
1998 Brett Wheeler Bill Donahue Ron DeRosia n/a
1999 Brian Hoar Jay Laquerre Jeni (Bigelow) Maynard n/a
2000 Brent Dragon Bill Donahue Mike Perdue n/a
2001 Jay Laquerre Pete Ainsworth, Jr. Kerry Henry n/a
2002 Phil Scott Shawn Fleury Tommy Smith n/a
2003 Tracie Bellerose Mark Barnier David Allen Seamus Curley
2004 Joey Laquerre Scott Payea Alex Perkins Steve Quenneville
2005 Joey Becker Doug Murphy Tommy Smith Maynard Bartlett, Jr.
2006 Trampas Demers Chip Grenier Kyle Tatro Bunker Hodgdon


Curley in action last month

Former Auto Racing Promoter of the Year Tom Curley is scheduled to appear on the popular SPEED TV talk show “Wind Tunnel with Dave Despain” Sunday, June 3.  Curley is the manager and promoter of Barre, VT’s Thunder Road International Speedbowl, a highly successful short track stock car oval nestled in the Green Mountains, and the President of the American-Canadian Tour (ACT) sanctioning body with touring series in the northeastern United States and Canada.

“’Wind Tunnel’ is the best racing show on television, bar none,” said Curley.  “I have never heard anyone say that they did not enjoy the balanced and unbiased motorsports journalism that Dave Despain brings to his show.  It is a real honor to be asked to chat him about Thunder Road and racing in general.  I worked with Dave about 20 years ago, and I look forward to being his guest on June 3.”

Known for his fiery personality, Curley was named the Racing Promotion Monthly (RPM) Auto Racing Promoter of the Year, the short track promotion industry’s highest honor, for his efforts with Thunder Road in 2004.   He is widely credited with the creation of many short track racing innovations, including the “spec” engine concept of the 2000s and the regional touring series boom of the 1970s and 1980s.

Dave Despain has been a popular – and, not unlike Curley, sometimes controversial – television and print auto racing journalist for nearly three decades.  “Wind Tunnel” covers every facet of the motorsports spectrum, from stock cars to open wheel, from motorcycles to off-road rally racing.  Curley will appear on “Wind Tunnel with Dave Despain” on SPEED, Sunday June 3, at 9:00pm.

For more information on Thunder Road and ACT, visit or, or call (802) 244-6963.