Thunder Road SpeedBowl
Chittenden Milk Bowl to Decide Thunder Road Divisional Champions

Nick Sweet leads the NAPA Sportsman points

The 44th Annual Chittenden Milk Bowl at Barre’s Thunder Road will be pivotal in deciding the weekly division champions at “The Nation’s Site of Excitement” on Sat./Sun., September 29/30.  With Late Model “King of the Road” Dave Pembroke of Montpelier wrapping up his first career title on Fisher/Federated Auto Parts Night last month, the stage is now set for the NAPA Tiger Sportsman, Allen Lumber Street Stock, and Power Shift Online Junkyard Warrior divisions.

Hometown driver Nick Sweet, 23, is on the brink of taking his first career Sportsman crown, leading 27 year-old Cambridge racer Craig Bushey by a nearly insurmountable 81 points entering the Chittenden Milk Bowl finale.  Sweet opened the season with a convincing victory in May, and backed it up with a second score on Pepsi Fireworks Night in July.  Despite failing to qualify for one event (only one driver – Joe Steffen – has made the starting field in all 16 races this year), Sweet’s 13 top-ten finishes in 15 starts have positioned him to place his name in the Thunder Road history books.

“We try not to think about the points until it’s all over, but it would be nice to have my name on that list of Tiger champions,” said Sweet.  “Joey Laquerre won the title a long time ago, and he has taught me a lot about being a racer.  Jimmy Young, Cooper MacRitchie, John Donahue, all the drivers that I grew up admiring… it would be an honor to see my name with theirs.”

Short Track Drivers to Battle for Greatest Prize at Chittenden Milk Bowl

2006 Chittenden Milk Bowl Champion Brent Dragon smooches Harvest Hills Ferry Queen

The best short track Late Model stock car drivers from the United States and Canada are preparing to do battle for the country’s greatest short track racing prize – victory in the 44th Annual Chittenden Milk Bowl at Thunder Road International Speedbowl in Barre, VT on Sat./Sun., September 29/30.  The Milk Bowl, with its unique three-segment, cumulatively scored format, was voted by American race promoters and National Speed Sport News as the “Outstanding Annual Short Track Event” last year.

“The highest praise any race track can receive is to be recognized by Chris Ecomomaki’s National Speed Sport News, and the Chittenden Milk Bowl winning the Outstanding Annual Short Track Event award ranks very high on the list of Thunder Road’s achievements,” said Thunder Road President Tom Curley.

American-Canadian Tour (ACT) drivers will converge on the high-banked ¼-mile oval at Thunder Road to attempt qualifying through Booth Bros./H.P. Hood Time Trials and “Triple 50” heat races on Sat., Sept. 29, and the last-chance “B” Feature on Sun., Sept. 30.  Qualified drivers will race the first of three 50-lap segments in the Chittenden Milk Bowl, with each driver earning one point to finish first, two points for second, etc.

Chittenden to Present 44th Annual Vermont Milk Bowl

Victory Lane at the 2006 Milk Bowl - Chittenden will join the Thunder Road family this year

The 44th Annual Vermont Milk Bowl at Barre, VT’s Thunder Road has new underwriting for its 2007 season-ending stock car event.  Chittenden, a major banking institution in Vermont for over 100 years, will support the state’s largest annual sports event that in 2006 was voted by American promoters as the top short track (under ½-mile) race in the nation.

“Supporting Vermont traditions is part of our world at Chittenden, and sponsoring the Milk Bowl seemed like a natural choice.  We look forward to celebrating the big event with our fellow Vermonters on race day,” said Chittenden President and CEO John W. Kelley.

Defending Chittenden Milk Bowl Champion Brent Dragon of Milton, VT noted, “Adding Chittenden to the race can only be a positive thing for all involved in racing.”

The Chittenden Milk Bowl’s format, with three 50-lap segments, complete field inversions for the second and third legs, and a scoring system based on best finishes in each round, is unique.  A perfect score of three points (three segment wins), has been achieved just three times since 1962.