Thunder Road SpeedBowl
Booth Bros./H.P. Hood to Present Qualifying Day at Chittenden Milk Bowl

Joey "Pole" lived up to his nickname in Booth Bros./H.P. Hood Qualifying in 2006

Booth Brothers Dairy, Vermont’s Freshest and Finest, and H.P. Hood will present the coveted Pole Award at the 44th Annual Chittenden Milk Bowl stock car race at Barre, VT’s Thunder Road International Speedbowl on Saturday, Sept. 29.  American-Canadian Tour (ACT) Late Model competitors from across the northeastern United States and Canada will attempt to break the Thunder Road single-lap time trial record of 12.935 seconds set last year by teenage sensation Joey “Pole” Polewarczyk, Jr. of Hudson, NH.

“I’d love to beat my own record,” said the recent Alvirne (NH) High School graduate.  “We know what it takes to get the pole, but it all comes down to the weather in Vermont.  Thunder Road’s track surface changes so much depending on the weather; it plays a big part in the time trials.”

Booth Bros./H.P. Hood Time Trials will determine the top-three starters in the 2007 Chittenden Milk Bowl, with the balance of the 30-car field set by “Triple 50” qualifying races on Saturday afternoon and Sunday’s last-chance “B” Feature.

Polewarczyk smashed the previous one-lap time trial record held by perennial ACT Late Model Tour Champion and former Chittenden Milk Bowl winner Jean-Paul Cyr of Milton, VT.  Cyr’s 2005 record of 13.067 seconds lasted just one season.  Polewarczyk went on to win the first 50-lap segment of the Chittenden Milk Bowl and post an overall finish of third place, a career-best effort at the time.  The youngster has four podium finishes in 2007, including a win at Seekonk (MA) Speedway in August.

Thunder Road Parade of Champions Banquet

Thunder Road Parade of Champions Banquet

Saturday, September 29, 2007 – Chittenden Milk Bowl Weekend

Knights of Columbus Hall – Barre, VT
(From Barre, take Rt. 14 north approx. 1.5 miles, take left turn onto Pine Hill Rd.)

Social @ 6:00 pm, Family Style Supper @ 7:00 pm
Roast Beef & Gravy
Roast Turkey & Stuffing
Salad, Potato, Vegetables, Dessert


Call Lloyd Hutchins @ 1-800-649-8932 or (802) 476-5591 to order tickets.  Tickets are $18 each.

Chittenden Milk Bowl Champion Brent Dragon Will Attempt to Defend Title

Brent Dragon (left) and family celebrate their 2006 Chittenden Milk Bowl victory.  Dragon's father, Beaver (right), won the race in 1978

Vermont stock car racer Brent Dragon will attempt to become only the third driver in 44 years to successfully defend his Chittenden Milk Bowl Championship at Barre’s Thunder Road International Speedbowl on Sat./Sun., September 29/30.  The American-Canadian Tour (ACT) veteran is one of three Dragon family members to have won the nationally respected event.  He has joined his father Harmon “Beaver” Dragon (winner in 1978) and uncle Bob Dragon (1972).

“I was reading the names of the past champions, and I noticed that there’s only been a back-to-back Milk Bowl winner twice in history,” said the younger Dragon.  “It would really be something to be the next one to pull it off.”

Should he win consecutive Chittenden Milk Bowl titles, the Milton, VT native would be the first driver since Williston, VT’s Brian Hoar in 1998-99 to do so.  Dave Whitlock of Wyoming, Ontario was the first in 1994-95.  Dragon is particularly looking forward to the traditional pre-race ceremonies on Milk Bowl Sunday at Thunder Road.

“It’s going to be a real honor to stand in front of all those Thunder Road fans with my father and Bobby,” he said.  “I look up to every one of the past winners, but carrying our family’s tradition is very important to me.”