Thunder Road SpeedBowl
Fay to Step Down as Thunder Road Marketing Director

Marjorie Fay will step down from her position as Director of Marketing and Advertising from the American-Canadian Tour (ACT) stock car racing sanctioning body, which also operates Thunder Road International Speedbowl in Barre, VT, effective December 13.  Fay was hired to the organization as Director of Media in 1985, and held several positions in the company during the last 23 racing seasons.

“My time at ACT and Thunder Road has provided much professional and personal development, and it has been inspiring to work with such talented people both on and off the track,” she said.  “I will miss it.”

During her tenure, Fay was the recipient of the 1995 ACT President’s Award, as well as the 2004 Ken Squier Award for exceptional service to fans and competitors.  Fay was also Chief Scorer for the ACT Late Model Tour, the Série ACT Castrol in Canada, and weekly events at Thunder Road since 1999.

“Marjorie has spent over 22 years helping to build ACT racing,” said ACT President and Thunder Road Promoter Tom Curley.  “Her work in a multitude of areas is appreciated, and she will be missed.”


Phil Scott’s 3rd annual Wheels for Warmth event held last weekend was the most successful ever.  According to Scott, in addition to generating record proceeds of $14,056 to be donated to Central Vermont Community Action to be used for emergency heating fuel assistance, Casella Waste Management accepted 1660 tires for recycling. Further, 1000 affordable, road-worthy tires were sold, and those tires that remain are available for use by Community Action Motors who service and provide cars to low-income Vermonters.

“As I have often said during the past weeks, I feel that Wheels for Warmth is a great example of what makes Vermont so special: devotion to our community, protection of our environment, conservation of our resources.  Everyone who participated in this year’s Wheels for Warmth deserves credit for its success. I would like to thank all the volunteers, community members, and businesses that supported this year’s Wheels for Warmth,” Scott said.

Thunder Road Season Passes Available for 2008 Stock Car Racing Season

Season pass tickets are now available for the 2008 stock car racing season at Barre’s Thunder Road.  Orders may be placed by phone or at the track’s office in Waterbury.

“Like always, we are offering three types of season pass,” said Thunder Road Administrator Tina Gallison.  “Gold, general admission, and child passes to Thunder Road will make great gifts for the upcoming holiday season, and we encourage race fans to purchase their 2008 season passes now before the late rush.”

General admission passes are $190, and will be honored at all 18 action-packed stock car events at Thunder Road in 2008.  Gold season passes are $250, and guarantee the pass holder a reserved seat at all 18 race meets.  Child (ages 6-12) general admission passes are $50.