Thunder Road SpeedBowl
UVM AERO at Thunder Road!

Race enthusiasts will get to cheer on UVM students on Thursday, August 14 before the race (between 5:30 and 6:30 p.m.) at Thunder Road in Barre, Vermont as the UVM AERO hybrid car speeds around the track.  What's unusual about this car is it runs on both gas and lithium batteries!

“GreenSpeed” is the 1st UVM hybrid racing car created by a team of energetic UVM students from the University of Vermont College of Engineering and Mathematical Sciences new student organization called Alternative Energy Racing Organization (AERO).  AERO received Second Place in Technical Design (behind Embry-Riddle) during its participation in the International Formula Hybrid Competition with other teams from as far away as Russia, Canada and Taiwan at the New Hampshire International Speedway in Loudon, NH May 5-7, 2008.  The car also received Best Hybrid-in-Progress Award, Chrysler's Best Hybrid System Engineering Award, and the Thayer School Dean's Award: Most Innovative Design Award.

Weighing approximately  600 pounds, the car has a 40 horsepower electric motor and a 40 horsepower gas engine for optimum speed! The UVM team designed “GreenSpeed” as a parallel hybrid with front regenerative braking. “These two things have not been done before”, says Doug Fraser, professional engineer from Dartmouth.


Mother Nature hasn't exactly been kind to the Nation's Site of Excitement this summer, but we'll keep our chins up!  Here's the revised schedule for the remainder of the 2008 racing season, following Sunday's Casella Tiger Sportsman 100 rainout.  We'll see you on Thursday at the VT ACE Hardware Dealers event!  Double Street Stock features!  Gates open @ 5:00pm, racing @ 6:30pm.  Regular admission rates - only $9.50 for adults, $3 for kids (6-12), and just $20 for a family or four!




Thunder Road Int'l Speedbowl - NOTE SS and Sportsman 7/31 makeup dates swapped
Day Date Event
Thu. Aug 14 VT ACE Hardware Dealers (Plus Street Stock 7/31 makeup)
Sun. Aug 17 Casella Sportsman 100 (Plus Warrior 7/31 makeup)
Thu. Aug 21 Kinney Drugs (Plus Late Model 7/31 makeup)
Thu. Aug 28 NAPA/Make-A-Wish (Plus Sportsman 7/31 makeup)
Sat/Sun Aug 30/31 30th Bond Auto Labor Day Classic 200
    (ACT practice/Local qualifying on Sat 8/30)
Sat. Sept 27 Booth Bros./H.P. Hood Qualifying Day
Sun. Sept 28 45th Annual Chittenden Bank Milk Bowl

Thunder Road Rained Out Again

The Casella Waste Management Tiger Sportsman 100 stock car racing program was washed out by rain at Barre’s Thunder Road on Sunday, Aug. 10.  The event, featuring a 100-lap event for the NAPA Tiger Sportsman division, double features for the Power Shift Online Junkyard Warriors, and regular events for the Late Model and Allen Lumber Street Stock classes, will be made up on Sunday, Aug. 17 at 5:00pm.

Sunday marked the fourth-straight Thunder Road event postponed by rain.  Thunder Road will try again on Thursday, Aug. 14 with the Vermont ACE Hardware Dealers event.  General admission is $9.50 for adults, $3 for children (6-12), and just $20 for a family of any two adults and two kids.  Gates open at 5:00pm, racing action begins at 6:30pm. For more information, call (802) 244-6963 or visit