Thunder Road SpeedBowl
Bushey and Corliss Take Thunder Road Titles

Laperle Wins Dramatic Milk Bowl Finale

Stock car drivers Craig Bushey and Jason Corliss celebrated their first track championships at Barre’s Thunder Road on Sunday, as part of the 45th Annual Chittenden Bank Milk Bowl event.  Bushey, of Cambridge, earned the NAPA Tiger Sportsman division title by just 13 points over Joey Laquerre, while Plainfield racer Corliss clinched the Allen Lumber Street Stock championship by an even-narrower 1 point over Lloyd Blakely.

Bushey’s 14th-place finish in the 30-lap Chittenden Bank finale was enough to secure the Sportsman crown, despite Laquerre’s strong fifth-place run.  Unofficially, the margin of victory was 978-965 points.

Brendan Moodie of North Wolcott took his second victory of the season, with Bradford’s Derrick O’Donnell second and Thetford Center rookie Dan Eastman third.  Ricky Roberts of Websterville finished fourth ahead of Laquerre.  Rookie Cody Blake finished sixth, unofficially, with Joel Hodgdon, Alex Perkins, Eric Badore, and rookie Chris Lacey completing the top ten finishers in order.

Hull Wins Thunder Road Warrior Championship

“Joey Pole” take Booth Bros./H.P. Hood Pole Award for Milk Bowl

Stock car driver Travis Hull of Graniteville won the 2008 Power Shift Online Junkyard Warrior division track championship at Barre’s Thunder Road on Saturday afternoon.  Hull finished third in the division’s 15-lap Chittenden Bank Milk Bowl finale on Booth Bros./H.P. Hood Qualifying Day, enough to secure the season crown over Wolcott’s Jamie Davis by 28 points, 1416-1388.

Mike “Biffer” Gay of South Burlington grabbed his second feature win of the year after a last-lap pass of leader Jeff Martin, Jr.  Martin, of Moretown beat Hull to the finish line for second place.  Mark LaFleche of Graniteville finished fourth over Davis.  Josh Vilbrin, Del Jarvis, Fred Schroeder, Kevin Dodge, and Donny Yates completed the unofficial top ten finish in order.

Nineteen year-old American-Canadian Tour (ACT) Late Model driver Joey “Pole” Polewraczyk, Jr. of Hudson, NH earned the $1,000 Booth Bros./H.P. Hood Pole Award for Sunday’s 45th Annual Chittenden Bank Milk Bowl with best single-lap time of 13.165 seconds around the Thunder Road 1/4-mile.  Polewarczyk will start Segment 1 of the Milk Bowl on the front row alongside Jean-Paul Cyr of Milton.  Craig Bushey of Cambridge, Brad Leighton of Center Harbor, NH, and Brian Hoar of Williston complete the top five starters for the Milk Bowl.

Mother Nature Canít Dampen Milk Bowl

The 45th Annual Chittenden Bank Milk Bowl stock car event will go on as scheduled at Barre, VT’s Thunder Road on Sat./Sun., Sept. 27/28, despite a test from Mother Nature.  Recent weather forecasts have changed in favor of the event’s taking place, and have prompted race officials to continue with the program as planned.

“We feel like we’ll get a fair chance to race on Saturday, and Sunday should be even better,” said Thunder Road Manager Tom Curley.  “In fact, we’ve even got back-up from our friends at New Hampshire Motor Speedway, as they’ve kindly offered us the use of their jet-dryer in case we do get wet.”

The weekend begins with Booth Bros./H.P. Hood Qualifying Day on Saturday, Sept. 27 at 1:30pm, with Time Trials for the $1,000 Booth Bros./H.P. Hood Pole Award and “Triple 50” qualifying races for the American-Canadian Tour (ACT) Championship Late Models, qualifying events for the NAPA Tiger Sportsman and Allen Lumber Street Stock divisions, and the championship season finale for the Power Shift Online Junkyard Warriors.