Thunder Road SpeedBowl
NAPA Auto Parts Night



This Thursday, August 6, all four Thunder Road International Speedbowl stock car divisions will continue their 2009 50th Anniversary Season Championship schedule with NAPA Auto Parts Night, along with 2 special additions:


First, NAPA, in concert with the Vermont Food Bank, is encouraging fans and competitors to bring non-perishable food items to help out our neighbors in need.  Donation of 5 items will be rewarded with an entry for a drawing for a pair of tickets to the September 20th Spring Cup event at New Hampshire Motor Speedway, courtesy of NAPA.  Donations will be accepted at the gate on Thursday, or can be dropped off at the following NAPA Autocare Centers or Parts Stores:

                                    Auto Craftsmen, Ltd., - Montpelier

                                    Cole’s Muffer – Barre

                                    Duxbury Auto Tech – Duxbury

                                    JW Auto – Duxbury

                                    Sugarbush Service – Warren

                                    Donn Henn Auto Repair – Johnson

                                    Mike Martin Auto Repair – Craftsbury Common

                                    Pleasant Street Auto Care – Morrisville

                                    NAPA Auto Parts Stores – Waterbury and Morrisville


Second, the annual “Run-What-U-Brung” event gives fans a chance to tame the highbanks in their personal vehicle.  The Run-What-U-Brung features single lap elimination match races (2 cars).  Cars must be street legal, with current registration and inspection, and all drivers must wear a helmet, long sleeve shirt and pants.  Entries are now being accepted at the Waterbury or Morrisville NAPA Auto Parts stores, and only the first 50 entrants will get the opportunity to tame the highbanks.


Help our your neighbors, earn a chance to win Sprint Cup tickets, Run-What-U-Brung, and enjoy all the regular stock car action during Thunder Road’s 50th anniversary season this Thursday night, August 6.  Post time is 6:30 p.m.


Shawn Duquette Wins Second Tri-State Series Event

Shawn Duquette took home the win the Tiger Sportsmen Tri-State Series, making it two wins in the first two events. Duquette won the first race of the Series at Airborne Speedway a few weeks ago and has followed it up with a victory at Canaan Fair Speedway in Canaan, NH.

Duquette won going away, but the rest of the 23 car field was competitive. Joey Roberts came home second followed by Joey Becker.

The final event of the three race Tiger Sportsmen Tri-State Series will be at Thunder Road International Speedbowl on Thursday, August 13.

WDEV/Calkins Night Featuring Richard Petty

Tony Andrews Captures His Third Career Thunder Road Win

 Tony Andrews of Northfield captured his third career win in the Late Model stock car division at Thunder Road International Speedbowl. Andrews win on WDEV/Calkins Night featuring “King” Richard Petty is his first since 1992. Andrews started on the outside pole and held off a strong Brooks Clark throughout the race to score the win. Dave Pembroke finished second and unofficial took over the points lead. Cris Michaud came home third followed by Brooks Clark and Phil Scott to complete the top five. John Donahue finished sixth, Mike Bailey seventh, previous point leader Jean-Paul Cyr eighth, Doug Murphy ninth and Trampas Demers rounding out the top ten.

The first caution in the NAPA Tiger Sportsmen feature came with two laps remaining and setup a shootout between rookie Steve “Mudflap” Quenneville of Barre and Josh Demers of Middlesex. Both drivers were fighting for their first career win in the Tiger Sportsmen division. Demers prevailed on the outside for his first career NAPA Tiger Sportsmen win. Quenneville would hold on to finish third after Tom Therrien also got by him on the final lap. Lance Allen and John Drinkwine came home fourth and fifth followed by Joey Laquerre, Tony Rossi, Jeff French, Ricky Roberts and Scott Coburn filling the sixth through tenth positions.