Thunder Road SpeedBowl
2015 Thunder Road Season in Review

2015 Thunder Road Season in Review – Part 3


Want to read more? Click here for Part I and here for Part II!


The second half of the 2015 Thunder Road season kicked off Thursday, July 30 with WDEV/Radio Calkins Portable Toilets Night. The event also saw the return of the Late Model semi-feature for the first time since 2008 and with it the “Triple Crown”, featuring a progressive cash bonus for any Late Model driver who could win their heat, the semi-feature, and the 50-lap main event. Montpelier, VT’s Josh Demers had first crack at the Triple Crown after winning his heat and the semi, but it was polesitter Matt White setting the early pace in the feature. Barre’s Jason Allen got underneath Demers for second following the race’s only caution on lap 11 for point leader Derrick O’Donnell’s slide off turn 1, and Allen immediately started pressuring White for the top spot.


Demers fell off following the restart, but began to move back up in the middle stages, prompting Allen to swing to the outside and get around White on lap 28. Allen then pulled away for his first career Late Model victory. The win came after a crash-filled first half of the season for the sophomore driver, and he jubilantly danced on the roof of his car in Victory Lane. Jason Corliss made a late charge for second while Demers edged White at the line for third. Brett Gervais, Trampas Demers, Cody Blake, Kyle Pembroke, Nick Sweet, and Eric Badore completed the top-10. O’Donnell finished 14th and saw his lead over Sweet reduced to 19 points.

2015 Thunder Road Season in Review

2015 Thunder Road Season in Review – Part II


Want to read more about the 2015 season? Click here for Part I!


Thunder Road kicked off a busy month of July with its annual Independence Day weekend doubleheader. The weekend began on Thursday, July 2 with Aubuchon Hardware Night featuring fireworks both off and on the track. The tension was high in the closing stages of the Late Model feature as second-place runner John Donahue steadily gained on leader Jim “Boomer” Morris by rim-riding the outside. But with six laps remaining in the 50-lap event, Donahue got too high entering turn 4, sliding broadside into the turn 4 Widowmaker and rolling over.


Barre’s Cody Blake inherited second, and after another caution on the first restart attempt, Blake got the break on the second try and pulled away for his second career Thunder Road Late Model win and first since the 2013 Vermont Governor’s Cup. Morris crossed the line second but was subsequently disqualified for an illegal rear end. Barre’s Nick Sweet and N. Haverhill, NH’s Derrick O’Donnell inherited the second and third spots. Matt White moved up to fourth after Dave Pembroke was also disqualified for refusing post-race technical inspection. Shawn Fleury, Eric Chase, Jason Corliss, Brett Gervais, Josh Demers, and Kyle Pembroke rounded out the top-10.

2016 Thunder Road Schedule

Thunder Road Announces 2016 Schedule of Events


Thunder Road officials have announced the release of the 2016 Thunder Road schedule of events. The 18-event schedule for the 57th season of racing at the “Nation’s Site of Excitement” begins with the 18th Annual Merchants Bank 150 season opener featuring the American-Canadian Tour (ACT) on Saturday/Sunday, April 30/May 1 and runs through the 54th Annual Northfield Savings Bank Milk Bowl on Saturday/Sunday, October 1 & 2.


A special weekly event Sunday, May 22 will kick off the 2016 Late Model “King of the Road” chase. The Pro All Stars Series (PASS) Super Late Models will then return for the 54th Annual Mekkelsen Memorial Day Classic on Sunday, May 29 as part of a doubleheader with the Thunder Road Late Models.