Thunder Road SpeedBowl
2012 Thunder Road Title Contenders

2012 Thunder Road Title Contenders

Each week will check out three 2012 Thunder Road title contenders from one of its three primary divisions. The contenders are in no particular order:


Shawn Fleury (#31): This two-time Bond Auto Tiger Sportsmen Champion claimed second in the 2011 final standings. Fleury is back in championship form after spending the 2007 and 2008 seasons in the Late Model ranks. After a 12th place effort in his return to the Tigers in 2009, Fleury has now finished 5th and 2nd in the past two seasons. His 12th career win during the 2011 season moved him past Pete Ainsworth and Chip Grenier on the all-time Tiger wins list. He now sits 2nd on that list, trailing only Joey Laquerre. Fleury put together an impressive 2011 season with 12 top tens in his 17 starts, including 8 in the final 9 events. That momentum should carry over to the 2012 season.

Jason Allen (#29): After finishing second in the rookie standings in 2010, Allen jump started his 2011 season with a career best second place effort on opening day. It was the first of his 11 top tens during his 16 starts on the year. He capped off the 2011 season with 3 podium finishes in the final 4 events including his first career win. Allen earned 6th in the final standings and received the Most Improved Driver Award during the 2011 Thunder Road Banquet of Champions. After turning a lot of heads during the 2011 season, it would surprise no one to see him near the top of the standings and capture a couple more wins in 2012.

Mike Ziter (#26): During his four seasons in the Bond Auto Tiger Sportsmen, Ziter has steadily improved each season. In 2011, he claimed a career best 5th in the final standings after earning 11 top tens in his 17 starts. He claimed two podium finishes in the final four events including a runner-up effort on Labor Day. Ziter also claimed the Sportsmanship Award for the second straight season at the 2011 Thunder Road Banquet of Champions. For the first time in his four Tiger seasons, Ziter finished the year without a win, so he should be hungry for a return to victory lane in 2012.

Check back next week for more 2012 Thunder Road Title Contenders.