Thunder Road SpeedBowl
Montpelier's Dave Pembroke may not have had the best Late Model car at Thunder Road Thursday night but it was good enough for the win. The Dodge Intrepid driver inherited the lead on the 41st circuit of the 50-lap Calkins/Windshield World Trophy Dash when frontrunners, Joey Laquerre and Dave Whitcomb spun in the fourth turn. The incident started a melee that collected six top cars including Jamie Fisher, Phil Scott, Cooper MacRitchie and John Donahue.

When racing resumed, with just 16 of the 22 starters on the track, Pembroke had Hyde Park's Eric Williams and defending track champion, Cris Michaud, on his bumper. Michaud passed Williams for the runner-up spot but with less than ten laps remaining, could not catch Pembroke. The win was Pembroke's second of the season in a weekly event. He also won the ACT Tour Merchants Bank 150 season opener at the Barre track.
Williams, who still looks for his first win of the year, was third. Completing the top five were Trampas Demers from So. Burlington and Scott, who had made repairs following the crash.
Ironically the race had started off in fine style with Winooski's Jerry Lesage setting the early pace. He lost the lead following the first caution period, on the 18th lap, to Graniteville's John Donahue. Just after the halfway point, E. Montpelier's Laquerre powered by Donahue for the top spot.
A string of caution periods, on laps 37 and 39, changed the complexion of the feature, knocking out several top cars. The lap 37 yellow came out for Jim Cilley's blown engine. The incident, also in the fourth turn, eliminated Dennis Demers from competition. The Shelburne driver, who was second at the time, got into the oil left by Cilley's machine and pummeled the fourth turn wall.
On lap 39, fourth place Rich Lowrey collected rookie Ryan Nolin, who was fifth. The pair found themselves flying off the first turn banking when the sway bar on Lowrey's Chevrolet broke. Lowrey never returned although Nolin's crew made repairs and he returned several laps in arrears.
Early leader, John Donahue, recovered to finish sixth. Laquerre was seventh, Morrisville's Pete Fecteau, Pete Potvin of Graniteville and Colchester's David Chagnon rounded out the top five.
Chris Gendreau of Waterbury Ctr won the NAPA Tiger Sportsmen feature over Doug Murphy and Brian Delphia. Delphia was disqualified in post-race tech for an illegal suspension. Nick Sweet inherits then position.
Tim Potter won the Allen Lumber Street Stock class and Maynard Bartlett Sr was the top PowerShift Warrior.