Thunder Road SpeedBowl
Barre, VT - Thunder Road's Late Model competitors look to add their names to the impressive list of previous Mekkelsen RV Memorial Day Classic winners in Sunday's 41st running at the quarter-mile high-banked oval. Steeped in history, the 100-lap Late Model race had a winner's list that reads like a who's who among the region's elite drivers. Twenty-six different hot shoes have carried the Memorial Day checkers but just four (Dave Dion, Jean-Paul Cabana, Robbie Crouch and Russ Ingerson) have been victorious more than once.

Over the years, Dion, of Hudson, NH, Thunder Road's favorite son, has proved that he virtually owns the Barre, Vermont oval with eight victories in the Memorial Day race, including four consecutive (1989-1992). Cabana, considered one of Canada's greatest stock car drivers, has three wins as does the "Tampa Tornado," Robbie Crouch, a multi-time ACT Tour champion. Russ Ingerson, who helped carve the track into the "Nation's Site of Excitement" in its earliest days, posted two wins in the Memorial Day race.
Williamstown, Vermont's Cris Michaud, a two-time and defending Late Model Champion at Thunder Road won in 2001, the same year he won his first title. On May 15, he piloted the Merchants Bank Ford to a third place finish in his sponsor's 150-lap ACT Late Model Tour race behind Dave Pembroke and Brent Dragon.
Pembroke, winner of the Merchants Bank 150 would have to be considered as a favorite but, by his own admission, he's a bit apprehensive. "I'll be debuting a new car in the Mekkelsen RV race," the Montpelier, VT driver explained. "In the ACT Tour races I drive the #52 which is owned by Dave Storey from New Hampshire. On Sunday, I'll have a car which hasn't been on the track yet. I'm looking forward to trying it out," he stated adding, "Fans can look for me in the #44 at Thunder Road."
Other active Late Model competitors who've won the Memorial Day Classic include Joe Becker (2004), Pete Fecteau (2003), Joe Laquerre (2002), and Phil Scott (1999).
Post time for Sunday's 41st annual Mekkelsen RV Memorial Day Classic is 1:30 pm. Spectator gates will open at 10:00 am. Adult ticket prices are $13.00 and kids (ages 6-12) are $3.00

1961 Roy Forsythe
1962 Paul Martel
1963 Russ Ingerson
1964 Ronnie Marvin
1965 Jean-Paul Cabana
1966 No Race
1967 Russ Ingerson
1968 Ron Barcomb
1969 Bobby Dragon
1970 Jim Gates
1971 George Horne
1972 Jean-Paul Cabana
1973 Jean-Paul Cabana
1974 Rained Out
1975 Dave Dion
1976 Dave Dion
1977 Dave Dion
1978 Dave Dion
1979 No Event
1980 Mike Barry
1981 No Event
1982 Dave Dion
1983 Robbie Crouch
1984 Robbie Crouch
1985 Joey Kourafas
1986 Robbie Crouch
1987 Kevin Lepage
1988 Jean-Paul Cabana
1989 Dave Dion
1990 Dave Dion
1991 Dave Dion
1992 Dave Dion
1993 Mike Weeden
1994 Derek Lynch
1995 Ralph Nason
1996 Kip Stockwell
1997 Chuck Beede
1998 Greg Blake
1999 Phil Scott
2000 Pat Corbett
2001 Cris Michaud
2002 Joey Laquerre
2003 Pete Fecteau
2004 Joe Becker