Thunder Road SpeedBowl
Chase, Henry, Fisher Grab ACT Late Model Award Nominations; Delphia, Hart, Gendreau Lead Tiger Sportsman Vote-Getters
WATERBURY, VT – ACT has named the final nominees for the prestigious “Most Improved Driver” and “Sportsmanship” awards for the 2004 season in the Late Model, NAPA Tiger Sportsman, and Allen Lumber Street Stock divisions. After drivers and officials returned the first-round write-in balloting, seven Late Model drivers and eleven Tiger Sportsman drivers have been named for final balloting in Most Improved and Sportsmanship categories in their respective divisions, with six Street Stock drivers nominated for the Ed Carroll Memorial Sportsmanship Award.

ACT Late Model Tour competitors Eric Chase of Milton, VT, Steve Fisher of Shelburne, VT, and Ron Henry of New Gloucester, ME each received nominations for both Most Improved Driver and Sportsmanship honors. Roger Brown of Lancaster, NH and Trampas Demers of South Burlington, VT were also given nods for Most Improved Driver, while Joey Laquerre of East Montpelier, VT and 2004 ACT Late Model Tour Champion Jean-Paul Cyr of Milton, VT were tabbed for Sportsmanship.

Three Tiger Sportsman racers are up for both awards in their division as well, as Justin Hart, Brian Delphia, and Chris Gendreau were each given dual nominations. Joining them on the Most Improved ballot are Adam Maynard, Scott Payea, Trevor Lyman, and Brendan Moodie. The balance of the Sportsmanship ballot includes Chip Grenier, Kerry Henry, Joe Steffen, and Thunder Road Track Champion Reno Gervais of Island Pond, VT.

The Ed Carroll Memorial Street Stock Sportsmanship Award was instituted in 2002 after the long-time ACT flagman and pit steward succumbed to fatal injuries suffered in a winter hunting accident. The inaugural winner was Joe Fecteau, with Eddy Companion winning in 2003. The six nominees for 2004 are Lloyd Blakely, Willy Hennequin, Travis Paquet, Wanda Burnham, Gary Mullen, and Nick Sweet.

Final ballots for the Most Improved Driver and Sportsmanship awards will be tabulated and winners will be named at the ACT Banquet of Champions at the Sheraton-Burlington Hotel & Conference Center in South Burlington, VT on Saturday, January 15, 2005. Ballots must be returned to the ACT office no later than Monday, January 3, 2005. Send all ballots to P.O. Box 296, Waterbury, VT 05676. To purchase tickets for the ACT Banquet of Champions, call (802) 244-6963 or visit for more information.